Weekend Activities for the Kids


Working all week, I often felt frustrated by the activities for children offered on weekdays but not on the weekends.  For nine years I have seen wonderful learning opportunities, cleverly disguised as fun and playtime, at museums, sports centers and libraries.  My town has a wonderful Mommy group, but they meet during the week and I am not a part of it …I work!

Of course this issue has lessened as my children have grown and moved into grade school.  I have a whole new host of things I have to work around, but I certainly do not feel the loneliness I used to of mothering without peers meeting up with me at this session, or that session, to talk about the woes and joys of diapering!

Having peers with whom to share things is a part of a healthy life-style.  It helps one reason out those moments when nothing you do seems right.  A quick chat with another mom of a toddler and, voila, you realize it is very normal and your self-esteem is given the boost it so badly needs.

So I have been on the hunt for activities held on the weekends.  As it is very cold here in the Northeast, I have been focusing on indoor pastimes.  Here is a great idea for those in close proximity to Stamford, CT.  Get out and get together girls!  It is good for the mind and soul, even if we just want to collapse at the weekend and not drag our butts out in the cold!

Winter Storycraft @ Ferguson Library Main Branch

Ages 31/2 -8

Saturday, January 21 at 11am -12pm

FREE

Winter Storycraft

Contact:    203 351-8242

Saturday, January 21 at 11 a.m.

Main Library Third Floor Auditorium

Cozy winter stories and a snow measuring stick craft. Ages 3 ½ to 8.

 

This is a Blog Hop post for Company Girl Coffee.  Click on the button to read about more Company Girls at Home Sanctuary

4 comments on “Weekend Activities for the Kids

  1. Sounds like a fun venue to me and I’m so glad it’s on the weekend. Both my daughter and DIL are working Moms and they often mention that they are unable to participate in most of the Mom activities and how they wish they could. They are both teachers and do take advantage of such activities in the summer when they are off.

    Thanks for stopping by! I always enjoy making a new blogging buddy!

    • Teaching is a good profession for catching up on activities. I am also a teacher and try to fit as much into the summer as possible. So glad we have connected!

  2. Hope you enjoyed the event! If it makes you feel any better, we are a home schooling family…and still miss out on lots of that stuff. With my older kids, I feel the pressure of keeping up with their studies and so it is hard to get away with the little ones to do those things.

    Hope you had a great weekend, blessings for the week ahead!

    • Star, you are right. There are many other situations that prevent moms from whisking their kids off to mommy-meet-ups and events during the week. I am in awe of home schoolers. I teach 25 children every day but have no idea how you teach your own, following a strict schedule, and keeping up the motivation not to have an extra hour in bed or do the laundry instead!

      The weekend was fun…lots of family organizing and the event was fun for my younger child. Peanut opted for a playdate instead as he was ‘too old’ to make penguins!!!!”
      Have a wonderful week xxx

I love to hear from you!

