Poisonous P’s


It is incredible how much plastic we are forced to use each day.  Take a look around the local supermarket and you will see how much food and supplies comes packaged in plastic.  Some of this plastic cannot be recycled.  Some of it can emit harmful yucky stuff and possibly cause terrible issues such as cancer, neurological and sexual problems.  Yet it is everywhere! 
When I use plastic containers, given my hubby and eldest son have sensory issues with ceramic dishes I sometimes am forced to get out the plastic bowls, I check their numbers.  Anything with a 1 or 2 on it is generally recyclable and is safe unless heated.  (Remember plastic water bottles should not be reused -bacteria growth – or allowed to heat up in the sun.)  It is better still to go with other options such as ceramics, class or china. 
Any plastic with numbers 3, 6, or 7 contain yucky things such as BPA (Bisphanol A).  This can be transmitted into your food…yuck! It was also classified as a toxic material in Canada in 2010.  Numbers 4 and 5 are okay, although toxic during production, they are not known to leak chemicals to the consumer.  However, recycling 4 and 5 seems a little less desirable now.

FYI – I recently discovered, and I apologize that I cannot remember the source, that tin cans are lined with toxic materials.  Even they are not a good choice. 
So it is frozen or fresh produce….with minimal packaging, preservatives and pesticides..oh, I’ve just created my own Poisonous P’s!!!!!  And all food shall be served in loud, clangy, toxic-free ceramic plates and bowls.   

2 comments on “Poisonous P’s

  1. I never knew any of this information -the numbers on the plastic.. etc. I try not to use much plastic – but I often find myself brining my breakfast to work in plastic containers. I should check the numbers I suppose! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Increase The Shelf Life of Your Fruit & Veg..Without Using Toxic Plastic Product « Gardening On A Shoe String

I love to hear from you!

