Children


Welcome to Company Coffee Girl Blog Hop.  I am getting to meet some wonderful bloggers through this blog and this is a great way to meet more.  Posts have been about all sorts of things so I decided to spend a moment (the time it takes to have a nice cup of coffee) to think about children.

Children are the greatest people on Earth. They speak from the heart, make no judgment about a person based on physical features, and have a knack of making me smile even at my darkest times.
Children don’t come with a handbook, which can lead to a number of issues with their upbringing and dealings in general. Despite every attempt at reading the Mommy Handbook, Parents Guide to Babies, How to Raise Kids who Love Themselves, etc…you could never find one book that actually gave you an answer to the particular question you had at the time….and there have been many questions!
Children grow and change.  Again…no handbook for this!  Children have their own point of view and you have NO idea where it came from….surely you made YOUR point of view very clear about respecting others and their differing opinions?  Why isn’t the message getting across like YOU want it to?  Why does your child insist on thinking and doing the opposite of what you want?  Oh yes, because you are trying to raise them  to think for themselves!  Now, where is that handbook?
Children are exhausting!  They can run faster and longer and with a much higher pitched squeal than you ever did.  They can function on minimal intake of nutritious food and need less sleep than those books we now store in the garage say they MUST have in order to be human!
Children also love to REALLY need to have the latest and greatest gadgety thingy that has just been advertised, just like all the others that now lay broken in the garage along with the handbooks!
But what children REALLY are cannot be put into words.  The first smile, gummy and drool filled.  The hand that fits so snuggly into yours as you walk along the beach collecting shells.  The excitement of Christmas, the Tooth Fairy, the night before their birthday.  The scraped knee and the knowledge that only YOU can really make it better.  The kiss goodnight, sleep tight, mind the bedbugs don’t bite!  The words that come from the person who loves you most in the world…”I love you Mommy.”  And the knowledge that this little person means more to you than anything in the world as you utter, “I love you too!”
Visit other posts on this blog hop by clicking on the button:

14 comments on “Children

  1. Thanks, Eila.
    I really hope it’s good. Did you see the deal for the Spa at the DoubleTree? Might be fun..I’m all for cheep pampering these days 🙂 See you Sunday.

  2. Ah, children. My third child has her 10th birthday yesterday. It goes so quickly. I received a letter from a cousin today that had a picture of her 5 grown children enclosed. I burst into tears and held up the picture to my husband and said, “This will be our kids someday.” He so compassionately replied, “Yep, sooner than you think.” I have enjoyed my kids at each age, but especially love the little people!

    • Hi Angie,
      Kids really do grow up quickly…my little Peanut is almost as tall as I am! I miss the toddler days the most…even though I swore I would not! Goes to show we really have to appreciate what we have 🙂

  3. As a mom nearing the “end” of the parenting journey, I can vouch for the fact that children DO grow up quickly!! wow. But your words are so true – there is nothing like the “I love you’s” and the sweet things they do and say. I’m still crazy about my teenager (and grown daughters) No more sticky kisses, but lots of love to go around. Great blog here, Gems.

    • Every stage is new and wonderful, but challenging in its own way! I don’t think we ever stop being parents, no matter how old our kids get…you are not at the end, but at the beginning of another stage. Enjoy what it brings and remember, grandchildren may (one day) bring you those wonderful sticky kisses again!

  4. Thanks…been a tough day with my kids. Three three and under. Just tired, but I find myself sounding grouchier than I am. Thanks for reminding me that they are so innocent and fresh. Even if they do wreck my house.

    • Exactly why those books stink…sometimes our precious children just drain all we have and destroy everything in their path! Three under three is a challenge I did not face, but you have three special people who love you unconditionally, and that is worth a messy house and a few headaches 🙂

  5. Children are a blessing from the Lord to be sure! I am blessed with 6 of them. Lots of work, lots of laughs, lots of love, lots of prayers and lots of joy. I am so thankful God loves them more than I do. His grace covers all my failures and inadequacies.
    Great thoughts, thanks.
    fellow Company GIrl!
    LydiaCate

    • Hello LydiaCate,
      Thank you so much for dropping by. Six blessings, you are a lucky and patient woman! But having God with you is certainly a wonderful thing. I doubt you have true failures and inadequacies, however, just regular human moments which your faith helps you through with grace. xxx

  6. Children are definitely a blessing! And they are definitely hard work! We have four children whom we home school and are in the process of adopting a little girl! We don’t have a specific handbook, but we do have the Ultimate handbook, The Bible which will provide a lot of clarity for a lot of situations! Thankfully, god is forgiving…as are our children and the laughs, cuddles, and blessings far outweigh the struggles.

I love to hear from you!

