Thoughtful Thursday: Does Everything Happen For A Reason?


 

Oh boy!  This is a really loaded topic for me.  Yes, I do believe things happen for a reason, but not in the ‘God decided it should be so’ sense.  Not that I don’t believe in God…I’m a little on the fence about organized religion, but I believe in the ‘force’ of God and the power of good, love, compassion, and forgiveness.  (Hmm…seems most wars start because the different religions argue about how to best show goodness, love, compassion, and forgiveness…but I digress!)

So, do things happen for a reason?  Yes…sometimes.  For every reaction  there is an equal and opposite reaction….or, there is a knock on effect, or the ‘what goes around, comes around’ yadda yadda yadda.  Whichever way you look at it, one just needs to think about examples in our own lives to realize, sometimes, things lead to other things and, therefore, there was a reason for it.  Am I making sense?  Let me give you an example.

I know a young boy who developed cancer.  He was in middle school and he fought tooth and nail to beat it.  He celebrated five years clear of cancer this winter.  I also know a six-year-old who was diagnosed with cancer…the same type as the brave middle schooler.  This little boy was terrified, his parents were terrified, but there was an amazing presence; the older boy, who was now a strapping senior, provided so much hope and was such an amazing role model, the six-year-old was able to face each battle with strength and courage.

Was it fair that either child got cancer?  No, of course not!  What is amazing, however, is the absolute belief both mothers share…it happened for a reason.  The senior became the rock that supported the six-year-old; the youngster will go on to inspire and encourage others faced with the terrible disease.  You may think I am being too “pragmatic or naive in the face of great anguish and potential tragedy”.  I don’t think so as I know both these mothers.  In fact…one of them is me!

8 comments on “Thoughtful Thursday: Does Everything Happen For A Reason?

  1. I don’t think everything happens for a reason. In fact it’s sort of my pet peeve when people say that. I do think, however, that we can take life’s circumstances and use them for good. God does have a purpose for each of us, but that doesn’t mean that he creates bad circumstances for us to carry out our purposes. That’s not the Gos I know. Humans are imperfect and have free will and as a result bad things just happen for no reason at all.

    • I understand you feeling things don’t always happen for a reason. I also felt the same way. However, my circumstances had me feeling there NEEDED to be a reason for such suffering. Sometimes it is more what the mind and heart need than what makes total sense. Others share differing opinions and I fully respect that…but my battle to get through the scariest time of my life is hardly going have me worrying about pet peeves. I certainly don’t think God created the situation. But, I am glad we are all different, as it is what makes us all so much more interesting to chat with on our blogs. 🙂

      • I hope I didn’t offend you by saying that it is a pet peeve; I didn’t mean it that way. I just know that when my brother had two babies born still born and people said, “Everything happens for a reason” I felt like there was no reason for those tragedies. The same when my mom was diagnosed with stage IV cancer. And again when a 3rd grader in my class was tragically killed by getting hit by a car. All of these horrible things had people saying that phrase and I just couldn’t find any comfort in it. I do see your point in that having a reason can be a comfort in itself.

      • No, I wasn’t offended. I know everyone has terrible things in their lives, I was just trying to explain how it helped me to think this way. I have lost five friends over the years, one was my school friend who died of leukemia, the same my son had, and I never thought there was a reason, I guess I just had to have one for my son’s illness. It is more of a ‘saving my sanity’ thing. I welcome differing opinions. I also see how the saying can drive you crazy if you do not have the same comfort from it. xxx

  2. This post just gave me goosebumps. “Things happen for a reason” is a huge, complicated statement that I tend to have the same feelings about as you do. Nicely written.

I love to hear from you!

