Delicious Dish Tuesday: Chicken Soup


Before the cold weather leaves us, I wanted to share my recipe for chicken soup. As with most of my recipes, I make most of it up as I go, depending on the ingredients I have in the fridge. This combination has proven to be extremely popular…I have been asked to share with friends and I cold live off it all week. I have never had the chance to freeze it, which makes me think my culinary dabblings are working on this one!

Ingredients:

* Chicken carcass – I roast one and use what is left after the family has had several meals from the meat.

* 2 carrots chopped/diced

* 2 parsnips chopped/diced

* 1 small turnip

* Cilantro – finely chopped

* 2 Chives/green onions finely chopped

* 1/2 Yellow Onion

* 1 potato

* 1 tbsp Wheat Germ

* Salt and pepper (to taste)

* Oregano (sprinkling as desired)

What to Do:

1. Boil down the chicken carcass for about 3 hours, adding water as needed

2. When the carcass is almost boiled down, chop all the other ingredients

3. Carefully take out all the bones and discard

4. Add the rest of the ingredients to the chicken meat and broth (created when you boiled down the carcass)

5. Add salt, pepper, and Oregano to taste

6. Allow to boil for a good hour before serving.

7. Add water as soup is eaten…it starts so thick this is easy to do.

8. See if you have any left to freeze!

Note: each time you boil up the soup, it is best to skim the fat from the top. I save a littel for extra flavor.

10 comments on “Delicious Dish Tuesday: Chicken Soup

  1. This looks so yummy, healthy, and a perfect cold weather meal! I don’t know that I’ve ever had parsnips before… I’ll have to get some to try, esp when I make this soup!
    Thanks so much for linking up to Delicious Dish Tuesday again this week! Can’t wait to see what you share next week!

I love to hear from you!

