Physical Wellbeing


It had been almost a year since I began the first incarnation of this blog. It started out as a fitness journal; a way for me to track my stats, eating and exercise. It has morphed into so much more, but I have decided to use this month, given it is the same month my little blog hatched, to see where I am in terms of health. Click here to see my original motivation and stats.

Being healthy can be measured in many ways. I like to categorize health in terms of physical wellbeing, emotional wellbeing, and family/relationship wellbeing. I don’t see the point of making oneself an Olympic champion if life is full of stress and mental fatigue. By the same token, it is wonderful to have healthy and lasting relationships, but you need to be healthy enough to actually enjoy them.

I have spent the past three years on a roller-coaster with all three states of health. See here to learn about my emotional wellbeing challenges as well as here and here to see what I am doing about improving things. My relationships have taken a beating due to the stresses noted in the links above…also time has not been friendly and has prevented me from getting together with friends on a regular basis.

Today I am going to look at my physical wellbeing. If you took a look at my motivation and stats at the birth of this blog, you will probably be expecting a huge improvement by now. Um…sorry, I’m embarrassed to say that blogging has made me fat! Actually, I know I’m not fat…far from it, but much heavier than I should be and my BMI is now heading towards unhealthy! YUCK!

It is time to take more of a stand: I need to be held accountable for myself. I’m going to log my progress for the world to see so I am forced to put myself further up on the important list again. I feel much healthier in terms of my emotional state now everyone else in my family is scheduled, exercised, fed nutritious food, and given attention as needed. I am still not providing myself with those things..oh, except for the amazing DIY skincare I am enjoying so much!

My stats today…gulp!

Chest: 38″
Waist: 36″
Hips 41″
Thigh: 22″
Weight: 152

Realistically, I am not at an unhealthy weight. I am a little jiggly and my sense of self is a little challenged by my not being at a level of fitness that makes me happy. I am not planning on reliving my twenties at all. But the belly fat has to go. It is unhealthy and not very pretty…oh, and I have to go to a water park this weekend and I don’t like the dread that has crept in…it is a family vacation and I should be just enjoying it.

Thankfully I have a cunning plan in place…not a diet (I don’t believe in them), but some healthy tweaks which will blast my extra inches and renew my ability to zipper my jeans!

I love to hear from you!

