Low Calorie, High Fiber and Protein – Oatmeal


Belly Fat breakfast with oatmeal

Here is the quick low calorie, high fiber, and protein-packed family breakfast we had this morning. It took 15 minutes total to prepare!


Apple Oatmeal

I am continuing my efforts to eat foods that will provide me with protein and energy. Oatmeal is a great food to eat because it is low calorie (about 130 calories per serving) and it is one of the most protein-packed cereals. It is also full of fiber and staves off those hunger pains well into the day. I don’t usually need a mid-morning snack after this breakfast but eat a few (3-5) almonds to keep my metabolism going. I like to add the fruit because I am not a big fan of plain oatmeal…I ned to coat it in sugar…so fruit is perfect for adding healthy, nutrient-packed sweetness. I include the apple in the actual cooking as my kids can sure be picky when they are sleepy and sometimes balk at the fruit.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup oatmeal
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 1/2 cup 2% milk or you own preference
1/2 cup chopped almonds (very finely chopped to hide from boys)
1 apple, grated
Fresh fruit such as strawberries or raspberries

Directions:
Bring milk to a boil. Add oatmeal, cinnamon, and salt. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer until liquid is absorbed (about 10 minutes). Stir in remaining ingredients and serve hot with fresh fruit on top.

A big hit all round and very tasty.

8 comments on “Low Calorie, High Fiber and Protein – Oatmeal

I love to hear from you!

