Breakfast Sandwiches – Mediterranean Style!


Simple meze of feta cheese and olives: charact...

 

Today is the last day of summer vacation for the boys.  We are about to head off on a family day out….not sure where..we like to just go and see where we end up 🙂    To set us up for the adventure,  I made a delicious breakfast for the family.

My boys are beginning to appreciate stacking and building food, burger-style.  Peanut tends to add more variety than does Button, but adapting the presentation of the food, a la family style, helps encourage them to experiment.  Scouring the fridge for ingredients my boys might eat, I pulled together the following hearty and protein-packed breakfast.

Ingredients:

4 multigrain sandwich thins

drizzle of olive oil (about 3-4 tsp)

Blob of coconut oil (about 1/2 tsp)

fresh rosemary (I could have used dried also) – about 1/2 tsp

4 eggs

1 large tomato cut into 8 slices

2 cups baby spinach

1/2 cup feta cheese

pinch of sea salt

pinch of pepper (freshly ground)

My Concoction:

1. Open up sandwich thins and lightly coat sides with olive oil. Toast in oven or toaster for about 5 mins.

2. At the same time, heat up rosemary  and coconut oil in a skillet, then break eggs and gently cook until they are over-easy. I let mine cook for about one minute and then flipped them.  An alternative would be to scramble eggs which Button prefers.

3. On four serving plates place the lower half of the toasted sandwich thins.  Now add the spinach, tomato slices, the egg and a tbsp of feta cheese.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste, top with the other half of the sandwich thin and eat.

I served each ingredient family style so my boys could help themselves to what they wanted and ‘build’ their own creation.  Word of warning: this may backfire as they gobble up favorites and you are left with no eggs to add to your own sandwich! 🙂  I was very impressed, however, that the boys did try everything.  Peanut already eats spinach (believing it is just lettuce) and Button will force a leaf or two down him if pushed.  I notice that he will eat then more easily if they wrap another food, so he wrapped the eggs!!!

I love to hear from you!