Nighttime – MyTime


 

Night is a time for so many things.  Sleep is the first one that comes to mind. Yet sleep eludes me most of the time.  I find myself hoping, wishing, crying out for sleep…but NO!  Sleep does not always happen at night!

Night is a time for great thoughts!  I formulate some of my most wonderful plans and ideas at night.  I think about how I can turn my the house into one resembling the HGTV dream home….mine is definitely NOT that way at the moment!  I plan my lessons, decide which student to work with on a specific skill, think about materials that might make it more fun, and how I might use the lesson to enrich some students…it all comes to me so easily at night!

Night is also when I find by worst fears creep into my mind.  Some are rational, brought about due to events and situations that are beyond my control, but reasonable non-the-less.  Other thoughts are totally irrational, seeds from which bad thoughts grow, they are just weeds, forcing their way into my being, insidious and debilitating.  These I need to let go of…breathing techniques, reading, meditation…yeah right…they actually don’t work when these thoughts come in….I tend to just roll with them and hope they go away.

Night is together time for my husband and I.  Being together is as simple as our hands held gently  as we  he falls asleep; a meaningful conversation; a moment of love with the embrace of one known so well; or a time of passion and fire!  I generally find the wee small hours become more a time for solitude with the soft hum of my love’s breathing as he sleeps peacefully beside me.

At night, the animals play.  Cats chase their tails, dogs sniff out crumbs left by hungry kids missed by the Swiffer in the hurried clean-up of the evening.  Once tired, the animals decide our bed is a great hang-out and they walk all over me to say goodnight in their friendly, furry way.

Best of all, night is ME time.  I get to turn my attention totally to ME.  Selfish as it seems, once everyone has settled down and is safely in the Land of Nod, I can think my own thoughts, blog away with abandon, plan, worry, savor..whatever I wish to do (or my brain decides I should do).

Night is my time…night is a time for me…I just wish I could also get a little bit of sleep too!

5 comments on “Nighttime – MyTime

  1. I could totally have written this, as in, the same goes for me–exactly, except the part about the animals. I have no pets except the fuzzy human creatures I live with. I have to keep a notebook and flash light next to the bed now, because I do do my best thinking at night.

    • I am so sorry you go through this too, but glad I am not alone! I make notes on my iphone as ideas come to me. Sometimes I try to ignore them and don’t jot ideas down…I always regret that later!

  2. I feel the same way about the wee hours of the morning. Right now the house is silent (except the baby doing some grunting on the baby monitor) and I am enjoying just being with me. It will all end soon enough though.

    I don’t function that well at night, so luckily I fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow.

    • I loved (and sometimes dreaded) the nighttime with my babies. Peanut was very colicky so I usually spent the whole night helping him sleep by rocking, burping and playing music as we danced together gently in a slow, rhythmic way. Snuggling was amazing, but sometimes the need for sleep was enough for me to wish I had a baby that actually slept! Button was more of a sleeper but woke up every four hours. At least I did fall asleep back then, even if it was broken up.

  3. Pingback: A New Entryway | Healthy Working Mom

I love to hear from you!