Summer Smoothies


I am a Smoothie fan. I like to create my own versions and discover new and interesting tastes. Not everything works out, especially as I am not good at following measuring rules, but sometimes I hit the jackpot!

My shining glory this morning was a recipe inspired by recent posts on other blogs to do with Kale. I am not a lover of this green, leafy vegetable, but I do know how wonderful it is nutritionally. Naturally, I have never managed to get my kids to eat it, as I don’t cook it much.

My smoothie started out with me ripping apart (who needs to chop?) two large handfuls of kale. Where I was going from there, I was not sure. Then I hunted around my kitchen and threw this gem together:

kale smoothie

•Two large handfuls of ripped-up Kale
•Two bananas
•One red apple chopped
•About half a small carton of raspberries
•1 cup (about) organic Banilla yoghurt
•2 cups (about) vanilla soy milk
•One scoop of Chia

A true miracle happened. My very fussy kids immediately turned their noses up at the smoothie because it was green! Peanut decided to give it a try, however, and viola! He loved it! I was over the moon…kale and chia all in one! He even asked for more which produced a big beaming smile all over my face.

To try to persuade Button to give it a go, I have put some of the mixture into the freezer to make an ice-pop. Hopefully that will entice him to at least try.

I wanted to add protein powder to the smoothie, but discovered that the last of it was used on the smoothie we enjoyed a couple of days ago. This one had more precise measurements and was delicious but not my all time favorite. I did like using green tea, however, as it is thought to fight off cancer and heart disease. The recipe called for regular honey but I am a raw honey nut and love the flavor and the general idea that it is a healthier version. I have no scientific evidence to back up that statement but mind over matter goes a long way I’m sure 🙂

1 scoop protein powder
3 cups frozen white grapes
2 packed cups baby spinach
1 1/2 cups green tea, cooled
1 medium ripe avocado
2 teaspoons raw honey

So now I am all set for the day. We are cleaning…yay! Then a trip to the pool to relax. Have a wonderful day, everyone!

11 comments on “Summer Smoothies

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I’ve never been much of a kale person, but I’m sure the fruit gives the smoothie a fabulous taste! I’ll have to try it this weekend. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. I am in love with all the ingredients except Soy milk. I’ll try your recipe with a different beverage. Looks awesome!

    • It’s funny you should say that as I never use soy milk but had it for the BellyFULL pops my son made earlier in the week. It was vanilla flavored so I added it to hide the kale 🙂

    • I will have to get some recipes from you, Clancy. I am too new to it. Let me know how you like the smoothies. Hope my random quantities are helpful enough…I really should start measuring 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Week in Review | Healthy Working Mom

I love to hear from you!